Plastic Surgery Residency Program Overview

Plastic Surgery

The Division of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery program is at five affiliated hospitals of the University of Louisville clustered into a medical center complex in Louisville, Kentucky. Our academic faculty is comprised of six full-time members, three full-time researchers, and an active volunteer clinical faculty of approximately 30 members.

Our program is noted for the breadth, depth and balance of clinical experience and for the challenging clinical complexity of case material.

Our laboratory research program has become widely acclaimed and adopted many microsurgical techniques. We have pioneered and developed many new flaps and have pioneered composite allograft transplantation, including the worlds first successful hand transplantation.

This program is an independent model, three-year program designed to provide graduating residents with a comprehensive clinical experience and knowledge of the basic principles of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery.

The University of Louisville Plastic Surgery Program was founded by Leonard Weiner in 1973. Since then, more than 70 Plastic Surgery residents have graduated from our program. University of Louisville is known for pioneering many advances and techniques in Plastic Surgery, including: liposuction, microsurgery, muscle flap physiology, hand surgery, and surgical anatomy. Dr. Weiner brought suction-assisted lipoplasty to the United States after touring with the first ASPS expedition that investigated its use abroad.

Dr. Weiner also developed and initiated the implementation of the match system we use in Plastic Surgery for independent programs. Dr. Robert Acland is well-known for his pioneering work in the field of microsurgery and surgical anatomy, and he still directs our Fresh Tissue Anatomy Lab. Dr. Gordon Tobin was the first to describe and publish many muscle flaps and their modifications that we commonly use today. Dr. Morton Kasdan has many publications and books, including the first thumb revascularization procedure with Dr. Kleinert. Dr. Larry Florman was the first Plastic Surgery resident at the University of Louisville, and he remains as a full-time faculty member as Assistant Director of Education. Dr. Bradon Wilhelmi became Leonard Weiner Professor and Chief of the Division in 2007.