Trauma and Critical Care Research

Research Team

Achieving Breakthroughs in Basic & Translational Sciences, Community Outreach, and at the VAMC

Dr. Brian Harbrecht is the Principal Investigator of a National Institutes of Health R01 research award that focuses on glucagon and hepatic gene expression in surgical sepsis. His laboratory continues to generate work between him and Dr. Zhang who came with him from Pittsburgh. Suping Li was been added as a technician a couple of years ago. Dr. Ikenna Nweze has been added this year as a Research Fellow. They are continuing to study the regulation of nitric oxide synthesis in hepatocytes as well as studying the intracellular signaling pathways activated by inflammation and gut hormones such as glucagon and insulin. Dr. Harbrecht also has been doing some clinical research studies with a variety of medical students, residents, and fellows.

Dr. Glen Franklin continues a special community outreach project. He serves on the Ky Trauma Advisory Committee in an effort to organize a state trauma system. Dr. Franklin has a research obesity and nutrition, optimizing donor management and increased donor use

Dr. William G. Cheadle, an investigator who also works with the VAMC, is continuing to make breakthroughs to improve surgical sepsis and the immune response to traumatic injury. Efforts are also under way to better understand the inflammatory processes associated with pneumonia. Dr. Cheadle has had continuous VA Merit Review funding and has participated in the training of fellows and residents.

Dr. R. Neal Garrison has focused his research on hemorrhagic shock and resuscitation. Dr. Garrison is the Principal Investigator of an NIH R01 research award for his work on "Direct Peritoneal Resuscitation from Hypovolemic Shock." Dr. Jason Smith is making new discoveries in his animal model of direct peritoneal resuscitation.

Faculty members:

Brian Harbrecht, J. David Richardson, R. Neal Garrison, William G. Cheadle, Glen Franklin, Jason Smith


Baochun Zhang, Suping Li, Ikenna Nwez